SCHOOL DISTRICT OF JOHNSON CREEK

Annual Meeting Minutes Monday, September 18, 2023 Immediately Following the 6:00 p.m. Annual Budget Hearing Elementary Music Room

School Board President Mark Siewert called the meeting to order.

Present: Duane Draeger, Ken Johnson, June Kolaske, Janelle Kwarciany, Christina Norby, Mark Siewert, Natasha Steenbergen, Stacy Pustina, Rebecca Stewart, Heidi Hartz, and Richard Wrensch

Also Present: Melissa Enger, Mark Gruen, Neil O'Connell, Kiya Imig, and Christiana Childs

Pustina/Kolaske nominated Richard Wrensch to be the chairperson.

Motion by Pustina/Kolaske to close nominations and cast an unanimous ballet for Richard Wrensch to be chairperson. Motion Carried.

Resolution A: Salary for Members of the Board of Education

Motion by Johnson/Pustina to set the salaries of all Board members at \$1,500 and to keep the additional salaries of the officers at: Board President - \$155/year; Board Clerk - \$155.00/year; Board Treasurer - \$130.00/year and that Board Members are reimbursed actual and necessary expenses when traveling in the performance of their duties as Board members. Motion Carried.

Resolution B: School Food Service Program

Motion by Steenbergen/Siewert to authorize the Board of Education to provide a school food service program for the pupils attending the Johnson Creek Schools and to appropriate funds to be used for that purpose. Motion Carried.

Resolution C: Transportation

Motion by Norby/Steenbergen to authorize the Board of Education to purchase, operate, and maintain pupil transportation vehicles and to purchase liability insurance for such vehicles or to finance contracts for the use and services of student transportation vehicles. Motion Carried.

Resolution D: Tax Levy

Motion by Draeger/Johnson to set the tax levy at \$3,371,612 for the purpose of defraying the costs of operation and maintenance of the public schools and \$243,280 to repay non-referendum debt, \$5,640,000 for the purpose of repaying referendum debt and \$200,000 for Community Service Fund, for a total levy of \$9,454,892. Motion Carried.

Motion by Steenbergen/Norby to set the next Annual Meeting for Monday, September 16, 2024. Motion carried.

Motion by Pustina/Steenbergen to adjourn. Motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted By:

Rebecca A. Stewart
District Administrative Assistant